Secure Messaging (Formerly Relay Health)

Staying in touch with your healthcare provider just got easier: anytime, anywhere, from any Internet connection. It's easy and secure. For your non-urgent needs, you may even save yourself an office visit. No more talking with people other than your provider about private matters. With USNH Yokosuka On-line, you can email your provider, request appointments, get lab results, request medication refills, get medical advice, or create your own personal health record.

Getting Started

To register or log in, visit: http://www.tolsecuremessaging.com/

What is Secure Messaging?

Secure Messaging is a Web-based service through which doctors and patients can communicate securely about non-urgent healthcare matters. Through Secure Messaging you can consult your doctor about specific health symptoms, request a prescription refill, request appointments, receive lab or test results, access health education information, and more — depending on the types of Secure Messaging services your doctor offers.

What computer hardware/software do I need to use the Secure Messaging?

Secure Messaging requires only a connection to the Internet and a Web browser. Secure Messaging supports Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 on Windows XP and higher, Firefox 2.x on Windows XP and higher, and Safari 2.x on Mac OS 10.4 and higher

Is the Secure Messaging service secure?

With highly secure, built-in 128-bit, secure-socket layer encryption technology, Secure Messaging protects the privacy and confidentiality of personal information transmitted through its doctor-patient messaging service. Only you, your doctor, and your doctor's authorized staff can read your messages.

How is Secure Messaging different than regular e-mail?

Secure Messaging differs from regular e-mail messages in that they are securely and confidentially transmitted and structured to the specific needs of doctor-patient interaction. Also, unlike e-mail — which relies on multiple file servers distributed across the Internet — Secure Messaging uses a single, centrally managed, secure database which ensures that messages cannot be intercepted, deleted, copied, or altered in any way.

Will I be assigned a Secure Messaging e-mail address, and how will I know if I have a message waiting for me?

As a Secure Messaging user, you aren't assigned an e-mail address. Rather, you'll access the Secure Messaging service by typing the Secure Messaging URL into your Web browser and signing in to your password-protected Secure Messaging account. When a message is delivered to your Secure Messaging Inbox, you're immediately notified via e-mail (this notice is sent to the e-mail address you provided when registering) and provided a convenient link to Secure Messaging so you can quickly access your waiting message.

I can't find my doctor in your list. What should I do? How can I tell my doctor about Secure Messaging?

Tell us your doctor's name and we'll contact your doctor about joining Secure Messaging. We'll notify you via e-mail when we contact your doctor.

Can I communicate with any doctor in the Secure Messaging network?

Secure Messaging is designed to support doctors and their established patients. It's not a vehicle for establishing a new relationship with a doctor.

Is there a fee for this service?

Secure Messaging does not charge you to access or use the Secure Messaging service.

How do I send a message to my doctor using Secure Messaging?

Once you successfully register with Secure Messaging and your doctor agrees to communicate with you through the service, easy-to-use, structured templates allow you to consult your doctor about specific health symptoms, request a prescription refill, request appointments, receive lab or test results, ask a simple question, or access health education information — depending on the types of Secure Messaging services your doctor offers.

Who can view the messages I send using Secure Messaging?

Only you, your doctor, and your doctor's authorized staff can view your messages (members of your doctor's staff — like a nurse or receptionist — may be qualified to respond, or prepare responses, just as they would during an office visit or telephone call). Messages are never stored anywhere but on the Secure Messaging server, and they cannot be read en route, deleted, copied, or altered in any way.

How do I know the message I get back is from my doctor?

All members of Secure Messaging, doctors included, are required to create and enter a secure Sign In name and password to access the service. In addition, Secure Messaging requires doctors to submit their medical credentials for verification. When your doctor replies to your message, their name will appear in the "Sender" field of the message. Should a member of your doctor's authorized staff respond to your message, that person's name — as well as the doctor's name — will appear in the "Sender" field of the message you receive. These are just some of the ways we guarantee your privacy and security.

What if I forget my password?

If you register for your password, you can simply click the "Forgot your Sign In Name or Password?" link below the Sign In box on the Sign In page. If you know either your sign in name or your password, we can provide you with the missing piece of information immediately. If you have forgotten both your sign in name and your password, you'll be directed to our Customer Support for assistance.

As a user, do I have to enter my health information in the Health Record section of Secure Messaging? Who has access to my Secure Messaging Health Record? Who can change my Health Record?

Only you, your doctor, and your doctor's authorized staff have access to your Secure Messaging Health Record. And you can see who has accessed this medical information at any time. Completing a Secure Messaging Health Record is not required; however, keeping accurate records of your health habits, medications, allergies, and medical conditions supplies helpful information to your doctor. Your doctor may use this information to help diagnose your symptoms, or to forward relevant preventive care and educational information to you. Your doctor can modify your Health Record to reflect a recent diagnosis or a new medication.

What if I decide I want to discontinue my or my family member's membership in Secure Messaging?

You can discontinue your Secure Messaging membership at any time. Once your Secure Messaging membership is terminated, all information stored in your account up to the termination date — a "snapshot" if you will — remains accessible to your doctor, but you will no longer be able to communicate with your physician through Secure Messaging (or vice versa).

If you want to alter your Secure Messaging account by removing a family member from the service, the family member's information will be removed from your Secure Messaging Health Record, and you'll be unable to message doctors about this family member. All previous messages sent and received for this family member will be stored in your Secure Messaging account. You can always re-add the family member back to your Secure Messaging account at a later date, if you wish.

What if I need help?

With Secure Messaging you enjoy 24/7 toll-free phone and e-mail support. During normal business hours, Secure Messaging Customer Support representatives are accessible by phone or e-mail. Voice or e-mail messages left after normal business hours automatically page an on-call Customer Support representative, who responds within one hour.